Mermaid Illustration

There is just something about color that brings life to a picture. Last Monday, as I lay sick in bed, I thought about the piece I was gonna paint when I felt better. I’m very fond of Fairy Tales but I’ve never attempted to illustrate one, so i naturally gravitated towards them. So I thought: why not do one of my favorites – the Little Mermaid by Hans Christian Andersen?

After some thought, I decided to add something Asian – hence adding the Koi fish. The meaning of the Japanese Koi fish is wealth and prosperity which, in the story, the Little Mermaid had. I added vibrant colors because mermaids are said to be captivating creatures, and to me, perfectly represented by the color red. But what inspired me most was this quote:

“But a mermaid has no tears, and therefore she suffers so much more.”
Hans Christian Andersen, The Little Mermaid

insta_littlemermaid

Leave a Reply

